Cacao Coconut Almond Bites – Gluten Free, Dairy Free and Processed Sugar Free

Image

Cacao Coconut Almond Cookies 

As promised, here is a delicious recipe from the almighty Almond Milk and Almond Meal (left from making almond milk).

Most of the time, I’m motivated by what I have in my pantry.  Since I’m in the habit of eating mostly Gluten Free, Dairy Free and Processed Sugar Free, my pantry is a ‘tiny’ reflection of an aisle in a Health Food Store, therefore, most of the ingredients are quite readily available to me.

Having said that, healthy foods are quite available in most supermarkets these days, so you should have no problem finding all the ingredients below.

I like to use up what I have and work around ingredients I may not have.  Confusing? Probably. Simply put, the recipe below was adapted from another recipe using what I have in my pantry.

CoconutOilRiceSyrupalmondmilkAntiquealmondmeal

I’m currently working on a glossary of ingredients and will hopefully post it next week.  This glossary of ingredients will list the benefits and  where you can find them in Melbourne.  For all overseas readers, I hope the glossary will give you an idea of what some of the ingredients look like to help you find them in your local stores.  So, stay tuned…..

Ingredients:

1/2 cup rice malt syrup / coconut palm sugar
1/3 cup raw cacao powder
1/4 cup coconut oil (cold pressed extra virgin preferred)
1/4 cup unsweetened almond or rice milk
1/4 cup almond butter / good quality unsweetened peanut butter (use sunflower seed butter if nut free)
2 cups of Gluten Free Oats or Almond Meal (mix them would be great also)
1/3 cup of shredded coconut
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
1/8 tsp salt

Instructions:

  1. Preheat oven at 180 degrees celsius or 350 degrees fahrenheit.
  2. Prepare a cookie sheet lined with baking paper.
  3. Using a sauce pan, combine cacao, rice malt syrup or coconut sugar, and coconut oil on low heat.  Stir until all melted and mixed in well.
  4. Turn off heat and mix in the rest of the ingredients.
  5. When ingredients are cooled down such that you can touch with your fingers, form them into small round cookie shape and place on cookie sheet.  Use a spoon if you have to.
  6. Bake for 15 minutes or until slightly brown.
  7. Remove cookies and let it cool on cooling rack.

There you have it, Gluten Free, Dairy Free, Processed Sugar Free, Grain Free, and accidentally Vegan if you may, since it has no eggs. Enjoy with a warm cup of tea or coconut chai (will be shared later).

You may even choose to Eat it RAW by simply skipping the baking step and place them in the fridge to harden.

meeshagiacookies

Definitely Delicious!  Well, at least I was told by my critics.

2 thoughts on “Cacao Coconut Almond Bites – Gluten Free, Dairy Free and Processed Sugar Free

  1. I made them and they are delicious! thank you for sharing! I got the kids (3&5 year olds) involved and they had so much fun! =) looking forward to trying out more recipes; as I try to be as paleo as possible and its so hard to find eggless recipes !! you rock!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

