The Recipe That Keeps On Giving …

biscottibrownies

I’m finally here!

After three years of changing, cooking and experimenting, I’m finally writing about it.

Just 3 years ago, my husband and I were going through a series of health related issues, which no doubt were triggered by different events such as  parenting, job stress and increased responsibilities.  We were moody, short and exhausted all the time.   Realising that we couldn’t continue feeling this way, we decided that we needed to make a change.

It wasn’t until one of the many Wednesday mornings, hanging around waiting for my two year old to finish her ‘ballet class’, that I found myself engrossed in a conversation with a group of ladies about a Detox program called the CLEAN program.  As a group, we decided to put this program to the test and as cliche as this may sound, it completely changed both our lives for the better.

For a period of one month, we basically eliminated foods that have gluten, refined sugars, caffeine, dairy and alcohol just to name a few.   I must admit, it was really tough for the first 2 weeks.  We found ourselves walking around like heroin addicts looking for all sorts of ‘Food Fix’ and of course, all the eliminated foods were thrown out prior to starting the program.  After 2 weeks, my husband amazingly lost 12kg and my dreaded left over ‘muffin top’ (moms out there, you definitely know what I’m talking about) became ‘flat-ish’; at least when I am standing, I can see my toes.

We never started this program looking to lose weight but this is a definite ‘Vanity BONUS’ for us! We started waking up earlier in the morning with our new found burst of energy and most importantly, we just somehow felt HAPPIER.  I’m not going to go into the details of how we did it at this stage, but instead, share with you an incredible waste-free recipe in my FIRST BLOG!  This recipe will transform into more recipes since nothing goes to WASTE.  The recipe that keeps on giving!

‘Homemade Almond Milk sweetened with Medjool Dates!’

image

Almond Milk

Ingredients:

1 cup of raw whole almonds (previously soaked for more than 3 hours or overnight)
3 cups of filtered water
4 Medjool dates
1 cheese cloth / muslin cloth
1 large cookie sheet lined with baking paper

Directions:

Discard the water used for soaking the almonds.  Place almonds, water and dates in a food processor (any household brand will do).  Process on high speed until almonds are ground into fine meal.  Strain the milk using the cloth and make sure you squeeze the excess milk from the almond meal left in the cloth.  Empty the almond meal onto the cooking sheet and let it dry out over night or place in oven at about 120 degrees celsius for about an hour.  Store milk in an airtight bottle for up to 3 days in the refrigerator.

Meesha and Gia eating

image

Both my daughters love the taste and here’s the big bonus – You can now use the dried out almond meal to sprinkle over oatmeal, add to smoothies, and bake goodies such as biscotti, brownies, just to name a few.

So, please stay tuned for my next blog as I will share with you more recipes in the likes of the ‘Gluten Free and Sugar Free Chocolate Brownies’ using …. drum roll …. The very almond meal left from this recipe.

2 thoughts on “The Recipe That Keeps On Giving …

Leave a Reply

